Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-09-2011, 02:00 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Lens shootout

About a year ago I started shooting on a Spotmatic. Since then I've built up a decent selection of glass, but, to finance a recent K- body purchase and new lenses, as well as to make space, I have a few lenses I'm thinking about getting rid of, because they're redundant. Before I do, though, I want to do a shootout and see how they handle relative to eachother. What are some good subjects to test these lenses?
The lenses are
135mm F2.8 Auto-Vivitar "Bright-Band"
135mm F2.8 Petri Kuribayashi "Color-Corrected Auto"
and, in wide angle
28mm F2.5 Vivitar, Kiron-Made
35mm F3.5 Super-Takumar

I'd like to hear from anyone who has experience with these lenses. In the telephoto area, the Petri, WITH A HOOD is slightly shorter and lighter than the vivitar. With a hood the vivitar is massive. I've a slight preference for the Petri, because I have other lenses with the same filter size (58mm), which decreases the number of filters I need. I have a sneaking suspicion that the Vivitar has less flare. Sharpness is about equal, Petri handles shadow and cool tones really well.

In Wide angle I prefer the speed of the Vivitar, but the Takumar is very sharp, and much lighter and smaller. As well, it has filter compatibility with M series and other Taks. I have, in all, 4 lenses with 49mm threads, three pentax and a vivitar.

I'm a little attached to the Vivitar 135mm, it was the second lens I bought, but since I picked up the petri it rarely comes off the shelf. The Wide-angles? I could probably get rid of both and not miss them, nearly all my shooting happens with a 55mm or a short tele. I've used the Super-Tak about 7 or 8 times since I bought it, and the Vivitar, which I bought later, about 4 or 5.

Advice? Opinions? Stories of LBA?

02-09-2011, 03:09 PM   #2
Veteran Member