Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2007, 05:11 AM   #1

Optimal settings for DA 16-45 on K10D

Calling on DA 16-45 owners,
(Im just a regular hobby photographer without a grasp of photo speak so my question may sound dumb but please indulge me).

I recently bought the DA 16-45. However, the images are almost always dark (atleast in comparison to the DA 50-200). When using the DA 16-45, I have tried to follow the instructions on page 161 of the operating manual and increase the compensation value however, I dont seem to be getting right.

I would like to know what your optimal settings are to get clear (un-dark) and sharp images. At what aperture do you get the best sharpness out of this lens and what EV value do you use

Thanks

10-14-2007, 05:52 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by jazzman Quote
I recently bought the DA 16-45. However, the images are almost always dark (atleast in comparison to the DA 50-200). When using the DA 16-45, I have tried to follow the instructions on page 161 of the operating manual and increase the compensation value however, I dont seem to be getting right.
It would be best if you could post some pictures for comparison.

One thought though: with a wide angle lens, it's very common to end up including a lot more sky than with a lens of longer focal length.

Since sky is often bright, it tends to fool the metering into underexposing a less bright part of the foreground subject, unless you use spot metering for the subject.

That might be one explanation, but as I say, it's very hard to know what's going on in the absence of some real examples. If you're finding the picture is dark all over even though the camera thinks it's correctly exposed, a comparison of the same scene at the same exposure and focal length with the kit lens (the 18-55) might be helpful.
10-14-2007, 06:02 AM   #3
Veteran Member

What mode are you shooting in?

M, Tv, Av, Sv etc etc...