Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2011, 06:59 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Inexpensive Manual Wide Angle?

I'm traveling to Italy and would like a nice wide angle in my bag to capture architecture and cityscapes. And by nice I mean inexpensive. I'm ok with a manual focus (what better way to learn right?) but am not sure what range I should be looking in. Did I mention I am a newbie? (I already use a manual 50MM 1.4) edit- looking for best value- not necessarily the least expensive- at or around $100-$150)

02-10-2011, 07:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
That depends on how wide you want to go. There are some M 28mm and some K 24mm out there for 50-150$. If you want to go wider then you will need to spend a lot more $ on newer lenses. Personally I think the kit 18-55 is a pretty good wide angle lens.
02-10-2011, 07:43 PM   #3
Veteran Member

there are no inexpensive manual wide angle lens due to their scarcity and rareness. your best bet would be just to buy a $50 DA18-55 AF kit lens.
02-10-2011, 07:50 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Manually, the 35mm or 28mm, even 24mm primes won't break your bank. If you are really wanted to go low, get a non- Pentax brand.

But again, if you want real real wide, with no money spend, use your kit lens Yep, the kit lens is a great wide angle, wide open!

02-10-2011, 07:54 PM   #5
Veteran Member

If you able to go a bit higher with your price, Carl Zeiss Jena 35/2.4 is very very good (~$200-$270). You can have a look at some comparisons here:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/121458-ultimate-30-35mm-lens.html
02-10-2011, 08:05 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

The Sigma 24mm f/2.8 Super Wide II isn't a bank breaker and qualifies as wide angle on APS-C.
02-11-2011, 09:54 AM   #7
Veteran Member