Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2011, 04:16 PM   #1

Can I control the aperture on an M42 lens using the adapter

Can I control the aperture on an M42 lens using the Pentax k to m42 adapter on a Pentax K-x?

I went into a shop today to buy a K-x and took my old M42 lenses with me (see here)

The salesman fitted the M42 mount to the camera but couldn't get the aperture to work on the lenses. The problem is that the "switch" (see the red circle below) on the lenses does not get suppressed when fitted to the camera so the lenses are always left with the aperture locked to be fully open:

I've got my heart set on the K-x now but if I can't use the old lenses then I'm going to be a bit disappointed. Forgive me if there is an obvious solution but I'm new to this and I'd really like to get a Pentax! He told me that the would never work properly and I should also consider the Nikon D3100...

Thanks in advance

02-12-2011, 04:28 PM   #2
Veteran Member

From the picture the lens looks like a takumar lens. If so change the aperture control to auto/manual this will allow you to change the aperture ring to the value you want. Change the camera mode to manual mode and star pressing the green button. Also read the sticky with how to use manual lenses in the forums. This will help you a lot. M42 lenses can work with the kx no problem actually all pentax cameras can.

Sorry I forgot to add that on lenses that do not have the auto/man mode then you will not be able to control the aperture unless you modify the lens. It will always be wide open.

Last edited by epqwerty; 02-12-2011 at 04:33 PM.
02-12-2011, 04:29 PM   #3
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The guy at the shop you went to is a total moron and/or lied to you

Set the switch on the lens to "M" so that the M shows-- don't flip the switch towards the M where you can see the A.

In your cam settings, select "Use Aperture Ring--Permitted."