Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-13-2011, 11:09 AM   #1
Veteran Member




Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minahasa, North Celebes (Sulawesi)
Photos: Albums
Posts: 585
What about this lens: Ricoh AF Rikenon 50mm F2



Someone I know wanted to sell me this lens. I couldn't find review anywhere.
Is it good? Will it fits my K100DS?

02-13-2011, 11:41 AM   #2
Veteran Member
RioRico's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Limbo, California
Posts: 11,264
I gargled a little for Ricoh +AF.Rikenon mount and on this Wikipedia page I found this:
Note that the Ricoh AF Rikenon 50mm f/2 (Japan) lens of 1980 had a self-contained passive electronic rangefinder AF system in a bulky top-mounted box and was the first interchangeable autofocus SLR lens (for any Pentax K mount 35 mm SLR).
So yes, it will probably work on your camera. How well it works is another question. Good luck!
02-13-2011, 11:57 AM   #3
Junior Member
trojancast's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 34
This is an AF unit meant for a manual focus camera. This was an early way of getting AF. I would not use it on your DSLR. If you do, set your camera for manual focus.
02-13-2011, 11:57 AM   #4
Veteran Member
sterretje's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Roodepoort, South Africa
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 3,534
Not sure if a warning regarding the Ricoh pin is in place. I don't know if that lens has it but better search this forum and the web so you're able to identify it before the lens gets stuck on the camera.

Note that this lens will NOT use the camera's AF system but has it's own one.

02-13-2011, 12:20 PM   #5
Veteran Member




Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minahasa, North Celebes (Sulawesi)
Photos: Albums
Posts: 585
Original Poster
Note that pic is from the only web source that I can find, but without any detail. The lens uses three AAA batteries, so I'm assume that it is quite similar to Vivitar 200mm Battery Powered Autofocus.. It seems that the AF is ativated by pushing a button at the side of the lens.

While the Ricoh pin is obiously an important thing to be aware of, the bulky AF part on top of the lens is what bug me. It will probably making it a real no-go.
02-13-2011, 12:37 PM   #6
Veteran Member
darrenleow's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 541
i bought one off ebay but it arrived broken so i never got to test the af system on the lens. No matter though, because the af module clashes with the pop-up flash overhang and it won't mount on dslrs. no problem with older mf film bodies though..
02-13-2011, 01:02 PM   #7
Veteran Member




Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minahasa, North Celebes (Sulawesi)
Photos: Albums
Posts: 585
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by darrenleow Quote
i bought one off ebay but it arrived broken so i never got to test the af system on the lens. No matter though, because the af module clashes with the pop-up flash overhang and it won't mount on dslrs. no problem with older mf film bodies though..
THIS is what making it a no-go!
Thank You darrenleow, truly a great help
03-28-2011, 08:47 AM   #8
Veteran Member




Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Durham, nc
Photos: Albums
Posts: 896
Extension tubes and macro work? Autofocus should work then, and it'll clear the flash bump that way.

Charles.

03-29-2011, 12:05 AM   #9
Veteran Member




Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern England
Posts: 495
QuoteOriginally posted by ChopperCharles Quote
Extension tubes and macro work? Autofocus should work then, and it'll clear the flash bump that way.

Charles.
A nice thought, but I think at close range it'll undoubtedly focus on the wrong thing!
03-29-2011, 12:09 AM   #10
Veteran Member




Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern England
Posts: 495
Plus, of course, the thing's auto-focus won't be aware of the modified lens-to-sensor distance, so it won't be able to focus at all!
12-03-2011, 03:59 PM   #11
New Member




Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Semi-functioning AF 50mm F2... Easy fix or ???

I bought one of these on eBay that looked immaculate... The problem was that batteries had been left in the battery compartment and had leaked everywhere. I got most of it cleaned up fairly well, but one of the terminals at the far end still looks a bit dirty/corroded. Would this be enough to keep it from focusing correctly, even with fresh batteries? Or is it more likely that acid has leaked outside of the battery compartment into the focusing/motor housing and is causing other problems? It will hunt for focus about 6 out of 10 presses on the focus button. Sometimes it will get close to in-focus, sometimes not. But, it never seems to be spot-on and always looks a bit off on the fresnel and split-image screens. I've got it installed at the moment on a Ricoh XR-S that I also recently picked up on eBay. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
k-mount, lens, pentax lens, slr lens
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Sold: Ricoh Rikenon P 1:1.7 50mm lens (Worldwide) kp0c Sold Items 5 12-19-2010 05:53 PM
Help with Ricoh Rikenon XR 50mm f/1.7 buckyweet Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 4 07-19-2010 01:20 PM
For Sale - Sold: Ricoh Rikenon XR 50mm f/1.7 lens - PK Nick Siebers Sold Items 9 07-14-2010 12:08 PM
50mm f1.4 Ricoh Rikenon XR stewh Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 1 06-22-2010 09:30 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top