Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-16-2011, 02:52 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Why I don't sell on ebay...technical lens help needed!

quick summary...guy receives Super-Tak 50mm f/1.4 I sent and it's making a noise when he turns it. Anyone have any clue what might be the cause? Video here:

[backstory]

So, I sold a Super-Takumar 50mm f/1.4 lens and shipped it off two days ago and outside of the normal wear one might expect from an older lens, there were no issues with it. I've had it for a couple of years now and I figured since I have an FA 50 1.4 and a Pentax-M 50 1.4, might as well get rid of it.

Guy buys it, sends payment, and that night sends me a message saying it is the rare 8 element version. I was sure it wasn't, but I'm no expert on the matter so I just shrugged and said ok. Next morning he emails me and says that he made a mistake in buying it and after further research has found out that it was not the 8 element version and asks for his money back and for me not to ship it out. I (wrongly, most may agree) tell him that I was unwilling to do that as I had already used that money (not smart on my end, I know) to buy an LX the same night. In my opinion, he entered into a contract and had no right to back out of it afterwards. I had 5 watchers and over 100 views on the item and now I'd have to wait another week for it to sell. Basically, I was being greedy and I admit that and hind sight shows that I didn't handle the situation the best way possible. By the way, this is the first thing I've ever sold on ebay. Been a member since 2001.