Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-20-2011, 05:58 AM   #1

Urgent opinion...is my 16-50 faulty?

Hi friends, i want a your opinion about my 16-50.
Observe this 2 images:

f5.6 40mm
http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/6406/49902333.jpg

http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/4563/91572681.jpg

Observes the right border: right border appears to me much more soft than left border.

Now i just read that a light asymmetry can be normal in a zoom...my question is: i must return it back or not?

02-20-2011, 06:17 AM   #2

may be i'm not a pro at pixel peeping.. but i see fine... lol.. take some picture on something standard.. like a page of a book and it's much easier to compare
02-20-2011, 06:40 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I'm not an expert, but the image is not allright.
This could either be decentering or a problem with the body SR. Trythe same on tripod with SR off. If problem persists, the lens could be decentered.
02-20-2011, 06:47 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by elho_cid Quote
I'm not an expert, but the image is not allright.
This could either be decentering or a problem with the body SR. Trythe same on tripod with SR off. If problem persists, the lens could be decentered.
Thanks for the replies

The camera was on professional tripod and SR was OFF.

Another image:
http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/3810/76285112.jpg

02-20-2011, 06:49 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
To begin with, several things. Your photos are over exposed. Everything in them is shot at an angle, nearly wide open, at a distance. Yes, in the second shot, the trees look softer on the right than those on the left. In the other photo, where the brick building is in the center, I'm not seeing any particular problem. In your third photo, I can see with the re-bar on the right that it is definitely softer than on the left.