Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-27-2011, 12:38 AM   #1
Forum Member

first manual lens. first impressions.

i bought a Horusbennu 50mm 1.7 the other day. its a cheap korean lens. basically bought it because i cant use my paypal account with korean money (otherwise i would have purchased a Super Tak from one of you nice folks). some people on here have reviewed this lens. seems to be alright. maybe not the sharpest lens out there, but i must say i am impressed with its contrast compare to the kit lens. its my first time with a prime or a manual lens. i have to say for my first prime, i dont know how thrilled i am with the 50mm focal length. i have read of here that people like 50s for portraits, which is not really my thing. maybe i would prefer a 28mm or even the DA Limited 15mm. but i have to say i enjoy shooting in manual. i have read reviews on here of people saying "i would like this lens if it was autofocus". to me that point is moot. if you want an autofocus lens then dont buy manual lenses. for someone who never used film (and just recently got interested in DSLR photography) i enjoy the challenge. actually the reason i went from point and shoot to DSLR is so i could learn more about how photography works. my point and shoot took some pretty decent pictures. but i think this manual lens will teach me a lot about what real photography is. somehow just owning a manual lens makes me feel seperate from most of my friends who only own a camera to take pictures of their friends getting drunk.

any tips out there about: #1 using a 50mm prime (ie. what you like to shoot with it, favorite subjects, ect) and #2 first time users of manual lenses. help on making the most of this somewhat outdated (but still fully usable equipment) cheers!!!

i have that fighting spirit. i am determined to see what this lens can offer me!

02-27-2011, 02:25 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums