Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-02-2011, 01:15 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Helios 44M-7 58 mm f/2 of Zenit camera

Hi, I saw this lens to buy that come with the Zenit camera (only buy option). But I don't know if will work on my Pentax k-x. Which mount have this lenses? Are they of good quality? I saw the Lens database here and appear one similar but not this one.

Are a recommend option? I am looking to an Normal lens with f/1.4 to f/2 apreture. This is the chepear option, because i have seen Pentax 50mm SMC f/1.8 and f/2, Rikonon 50 mm f/2, Super Takumar f/1.4 (but i don't have the m42 mount).

Any recommnendation? I am a bit new with photography in general, so sorry if there are mistakes in my post.

Andrés

03-02-2011, 03:13 PM   #2

Hello. I have this lens and the 4M-4 MC and 4M-4 single coated. All of them are very good. I also own a Ricoh 50 f2 and a yashica ML 50 f2. The Helios 4M-7 is the sharper of the lot. The mount is M42, and you can use it in your k-x using a M42-K adapter, but only in manual.

These lenses have an automatic diaphragm, so you have to disable it if you want to use other apertures than wide open. There are several tutorials on how to do this.

Don't overpay for an Helios lens!. I paid 25 euros for the three lens and a zenit 11 body.
Javier
03-02-2011, 03:20 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by andrix Quote
Hi, I saw this lens to buy that come with the Zenit camera (only buy option). But I don't know if will work on my Pentax k-x. Which mount have this lenses? Are they of good quality? I saw the Lens database here and appear one similar but not this one.

Are a recommend option? I am looking to an Normal lens with f/1.4 to f/2 apreture. This is the chepear option, because i have seen Pentax 50mm SMC f/1.8 and f/2, Rikonon 50 mm f/2, Super Takumar f/1.4 (but i don't have the m42 mount).