Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-02-2011, 05:58 PM   #1

Beating a dead horse DA15mm vs 12-24mm zoom

This is my first post. Sorry I know this has been discussed a lot probably but I'm a beginning photographer and need to make a decision. I just bought a k-r with the 18-55 and 50 -200 kit lenses. I do want to learn to take good pics but my first order of business is the work photos I bought to shoot with the camera. I sell real estate and wanted to be able to shoot wider angle photos of some of the interior rooms. Like say a really nice kitchen etc. I'm thinking 18mm on the kit lens won't be wide enough and I'm looking at the 15mm limited lens. The 12-24 has been suggested but it's considerably more expensive plus filters etc are more. I'm trying to figure out if 15mm is going to be significantly wider than 18mm. Also if the 12-24 would be too wide at the wider end. I often see agents using shots (from a local pro) that look awful to me. Really distorts the room etc. I'd like to avoid that. I would like my photos to actually resemble the house when buyers actually see it. ;-) Any suggestions?

03-02-2011, 06:21 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
15 is significantly wider than 18, but for interior photography I could see wanting even wider (say to 12, or even more) sometimes. You can correct for some distortion in software too.

For your particular application I would probably recommend the 12-24 because sometimes when you need to get a particular shot for work you just want to get the shot and don't other criteria are less important.

If the cost was a problem I'd probably get a sigma 10-20, perhaps an older one and figure out what you need.

Just my 2 cents... from someone who owns neither lens and isn't a pro
03-02-2011, 07:14 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Jeff Bennett Quote
I sell real estate and wanted to be able to shoot wider angle photos of some of the interior rooms.