Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
03-08-2011, 07:06 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
dSLR newb - which older manual lenses are highly recommended?

I recently purchased a Pentax K-r which I am enjoying quite a bit so far. I'm a newbie to digital SLR's and am going to be playing with the 18-55mm kit lens for a while. Please excuse any ignorance that may be displayed in the following post.

One of the things that interested me about the Pentax cameras is the ability to use older lenses from the '70s and onwards. But I can't seem to find a good list of which lenses are most highly regarded and recommended for today's cameras.

I'm looking for very sharp lenses that will not require any special adapters to fit my camera. My budget isn't very big right now, having just purchased the K-r.

I'm considering the 55-300mm Pentax DA lens as my next purchase, so I my interest in the older lenses would be mostly in versatile primes.

Are all the older lenses manual focus?

I'd like something capable of macro, but overall just want to know what your recommendations are.

Thanks!!

03-08-2011, 07:12 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
You might check the reviews in the forum lens database first. You will get 20 opinions shortly...
03-08-2011, 07:14 PM   #3

What kind of macro work will you be doing, focal length of the lens will varies with different macro works, hence affecting the lens choices.
03-08-2011, 07:15 PM   #4
Veteran Member