Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-21-2011, 11:09 PM   #1

New FA 31mm, couple questions

Quick introduction as I am a new member. I have been playing with cameras for about five years now, just for fun. The first 3 with three generations of point-and-shoots for snapshots, and the last two with a Canon t1i with kit lens, still casual mostly but starting to learn more about it. Recently (couple months ago) I sold the Canon and got the new K5 along with a DA 15mm limited. My interest is primarily travel photography, so more capturing a unique moment than finding artistic perspectives though I do enjoy that as well (even if I suck at it)

I'll be the first to admit it..I'm not that good, but I do take a lot of photos (45,000 so far) so I at least have some man hours behind it if nothing else . I upgraded primarily because it seemed to be "worth it" given how many photos I take and because I had fun with the DOF/bokeh on a f/2.8 lens I rented. I've never owned a fast lens before (f/2.8 as the fastest I've ever shot, on the rental, before buying this lens) so please cut me a little slack if this post seems ignorant.

Long story short, I just purchased the FA 31mm from B&H photo and have 7 days left to try it out before I can return it. I've taken it out a couple times for some real world photos, and in the process a couple questions have come up. It might be that I am not used to the extreme DOF but some portraits I took seemed softer than expected and there was sometimes striking fringing/CA even in indoor lighting and visible in the scaled image.

Here are a few sample photos I took as a result:

f/1.8

f/2.8

f/1.8 center crop

f/2.8 center crop