Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2011, 09:07 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Can someone explain the 1.5 multiple to me?

I am new to this and have seen some info about some lenses having a 1.5 multiple of their focal length. I believe this has something with going from a larger sensor in 35mm film cameras to a smaller sensor in current dslr cameras. Is this correct? If so, what lenses are affected by this effect? M, K, AF, A, FA, DA? Are the images effected in any abnormal way? Thanks for the help.

03-23-2011, 09:11 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
3 crap.factor posts in 3 days. Is this a record?

Let me google that for you

Then forget you ever heard the term.
03-23-2011, 09:11 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's simple. It multiplies nothing. It doesn't matter what lens. It is there for the old 35mm people to use and sometimes complain about.

A photo you would have needed a 24mm lens to take on a 35mm camera, you now need a 16mm to get the same type of photo. That 16mm lens will always Be a 16mm lens regardless of what camera you put it on. The 1.5x means nothing beyond that.

03-23-2011, 09:48 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I found a nice link explaining this this.Crop Factor (Focal Length Multiplier) | Tutorial9 It is hard to get info from the forums when you do not know what the term is called. Sometimes you just get more confused searching. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

03-23-2011, 02:50 PM   #5
Veteran Member

I know you older members get tired of hearing these questions. But please play nice with us new people.

Frankly now that I have started to understand the whole darn thing, I don't know why it was ever brought up. It creates nothing but confusion for the new digital user. So the image capture is a little bigger, crop the darn thing to what you want.