Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-25-2007, 01:55 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Portrait Lens / DA*50-135 or DA70

Hallo

I have been enjoying snapshots (family and travel), landscape, events, macro (flowers) photo with K10D for about 10 months. And I will have opportunity to take a poffessional fashion model in few weeks which would be my first real portrait photography experience. (I am no pro in any means at all.)

I have kit zoom lens (DA18-55 & DA50-200), but ever since I got Pentax primes, I never used those zoom lens any more. And I totally enjoy and believe in goodness/joy of primes.

At this opportunity, I was thinking to get DA70 LTD in addition to my FA77 LTD. FA77 is such a wonderful lens, but recently, I started to notice "purple fringe" issue with FA lens. And I understand that, although length are similar, DA70 and FA77 have different charactors/colors which I am very keen on trying the newly designed "portrait prime lens" particulary for digital photo.

Then, I've found that with extra $400-450 on top of price of DA70, I could get DA*50-135.

I have seen many posts, articles, reviews, samples of FA* that really making me wanting FA* (85, 200, 70-200....), but as you know, the prices are way tooooo high for me to convince myself to pay for used ones.

Now here are brand new DA* that most of reviews and samples that I see telling good reputation. If I am spending $1000, I want it to be amazing! However, those are not as great as FA*.

Anyways, here is my inquiry:

For who has or used DA*50-135 and/or DA70, which lens perform better as for the image quality (color, resolution for portrait) at 70mm?