Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2011, 06:40 PM   #1

prime lenses for street, portraits, medium closeups etc.

Hi everyone,

Just received my 12-24mm and DA* 16-50mm.
The 12-24mm seems great, but the beautiful 16-50mm is too heavy - I'm only 5''1 around 100lbs, carrying it is like a workout for me! It's embarrassing, I know I guess I could work out those biceps to live up to the 16-50mm, but I have another idea in mind - I want to try out some of those lightweight, super sharp primes!

So, any recommendations? I'm a beginner, but have been improving quickly with the 18-55mm and am starting to use the camera for business purposes.
1. The 12-24mm will be for landscapes, got that covered.
2. So I'm looking for a prime that will reside on my K7 most of the time for street and portraits
3. And possibly another prime for some close-up shots as well (for my online handicrafts/artworks shop), extreme telephoto (bug legs, flower stems etc.) is not necessary, but 50mm was not enough.

I'm very OCD about IQ.
(I'd also like to start learning film for street photography, if that's relevant at all.)

Thanks! Any tips about learning to work with primes are also appreciated. You guys are great and this is one of my favorite forums!

04-04-2011, 07:26 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ardentartichoke Quote
Hi everyone,

Just received my 12-24mm and DA* 16-50mm.
The 12-24mm seems great, but the beautiful 16-50mm is too heavy - I'm only 5''1 around 100lbs, carrying it is like a workout for me! It's embarrassing, I know I guess I could work out those biceps to live up to the 16-50mm, but I have another idea in mind - I want to try out some of those lightweight, super sharp primes!

So, any recommendations? I'm a beginner, but have been improving quickly with the 18-55mm and am starting to use the camera for business purposes.
1. The 12-24mm will be for landscapes, got that covered.