Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-11-2011, 12:43 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
eaglem's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth Western Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 25,687
Can a Teleconverter benefit a Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 Lens?

I recently bought a Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 Lens and find it fast in focus and gives good quality photos. I was hoping to add a bit more reach than I'm getting with a Teleconverter, either 1.4 or 2.0 but would like to know what the benefits and drawbacks might be in doing this. Any help would be appreciated.

04-11-2011, 01:19 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Chaos_Realm's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 1,248
Of the top of my head:

Benefits:
Longer Reach, so if you can't get closer to the subject then this is cheaper than buying a new lens

min focus distance stays the same but focal length is increased. (can be handy for macro but your dedicated sigma's would be best)

Drawbacks:
Slower focus speed
lower IQ
reduces the largest apertures (1 stop for 1.4X and 2 stops for 2X)

their may be some others but that's I all can think of now.
04-11-2011, 03:52 AM   #3
Inactive Account




Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Photos: Albums
Posts: 2,965
Testing is critical...

QuoteOriginally posted by eaglem Quote
I recently bought a Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 Lens and find it fast in focus and gives good quality photos. I was hoping to add a bit more reach than I'm getting with a Teleconverter, either 1.4 or 2.0 but would like to know what the benefits and drawbacks might be in doing this. Any help would be appreciated.
It is possible that a certain TC can give better sharpness or image quality than simply enlarging the non-TC image. Certainly some TC's are better than others & worth a try if the attendant light loss won't hurt you (even 2 stops (2X TC) should still be ok for your AF).

Actual experience will provide the best guidance; I hope someone will identify a TC that will do what you want. I caution you avoid relying on guesses like "The Kenko XXX works well with my Tamron, therefore it will work well with your Sigma."

If nobody reports positive experience, then I'd make my best guess, buy or rent the TC then critically test it immediately....return it if it fails to improve your images compared to enlarging.

An expensive TC that makes images worse than no TC at all is not a valuable addition to your kit.
04-11-2011, 04:05 AM   #4
Pentaxian




Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Southern California
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 3,181
Sigma's own TCs reportedly often work well with their lenses, but you'll have to look into the specifics of your combination.

04-11-2011, 05:18 AM   #5
Pentaxian
Lowell Goudge's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 15,314
What Sigma lens do you have, HSM or not?

The currently available Sigma TCs are not equipped with the KAF2 mount necessary for HSM

Also, I have heard that some of the sigmas, are not as sharp as others at the longest focal lengths.

I believe the origonal APO 70-200F2.8 EX (Non DG NOn Macro) version is the sharpest. the macro version is reportidly s just a little softer at 200mm.

As for the TCs themselves, and with the lens, yes they do work very well.

this was a jpeg right out of the camera just resized

Also note that the sigma TCs feed lens data through the body directly with no intelligence between camera and lens, therefore the camera thinks it has a 200mm not 400mm lens (so SR is not as accurate/effective) and on some bodies the incorrect aperture feedback leads to a constant exposure error that needs to be adjusted out. On my K10D i need .7 stops with a 1.4x and 1/3 stops with a 2x sigma TC on the 70-200

04-11-2011, 05:54 AM   #6
Inactive Account




Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Photos: Albums
Posts: 2,965
QuoteOriginally posted by Lowell Goudge Quote
...
As for the {sigma} TCs themselves, and with the lens, yes they do work very well.....

Thank you Lowell that's exactly the kind of precise response needed.
04-11-2011, 07:25 AM   #7
Loyal Site Supporter
eaglem's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth Western Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 25,687
Original Poster
Thanks for the information, it gives me a bit to consider.
04-11-2011, 08:31 AM   #8
Pentaxian
Lowell Goudge's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 15,314
which version of the lens dou you own?

It really does make a huge difference in the decision

04-11-2011, 04:15 PM   #9
Loyal Site Supporter
eaglem's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth Western Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 25,687
Original Poster
It's the Sigma APO DG 70-200mm F2.8 HSM Lens
04-14-2011, 11:02 PM   #10
Veteran Member
selar's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 2,035
I bought the HSM II version of this lens recently. Have only used it for a few test shots so far, but I feel that the very spirit of this lens is destroyed if you lose the HSM capability. I had only experienced SDM so far, the speed and accuracy of the HSM on this lens is a class apart. The original owner also advised against using Teleconverters with this lens and instead to crop the shots if you needed more detail.
04-16-2011, 03:56 PM   #11
Loyal Site Supporter
eaglem's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth Western Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 25,687
Original Poster
Thanks, I think forgetting about a teleconverter for this lens would be a wise move.
04-17-2011, 03:23 AM   #12
Veteran Member
selar's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 2,035
Yeah, I tried one of the two TCs capable of transmitting HSM - Kenko Pz-Af 1.5x with my lens, it hunts a fair bit at the long end. You can possibly work around by shortening the focal length to about 150, locking focus and then zooming back out, but thats not really going to work for your bird shots. Might work for your bird bath shots though. Theres another problem with the Kenko, it just seems to pass through the lens aperture information without modifying it as also the focal length information.
04-17-2011, 04:53 AM   #13
Pentaxian
Lowell Goudge's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 15,314
QuoteOriginally posted by eaglem Quote
Thanks, I think forgetting about a teleconverter for this lens would be a wise move.
Unless sigma comes out with an hsm version of the existing TCs. Then it might be worth it, as it was for mu version 1 APO 70-200
04-17-2011, 05:35 AM   #14
Veteran Member
kheldour's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cologne
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 306
I had the combination 70-200 2.8 with a 2x converter on my older Canon. It worked flawless, focal length is doubled, you loose 2 stops, but IQ is still very good.

No problems with the HSM/USM-drive.
Attached Images
 
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
70-200mm, f2.8, k-mount, pentax lens, sigma, sigma 70-200mm f2.8, slr lens, teleconverter
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sigma 2x Teleconverter for Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 bikermike Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 7 03-03-2011 03:59 AM
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 70-200mm 2.8 & Sigma 2x Teleconverter (Worldwide) rustynail925 Sold Items 6 04-26-2010 06:50 AM
For Sale - Sold: Sigma EX 70-200mm f2.8 + 1.4x EX DG Teleconverter Mile High Sold Items 5 02-14-2010 02:32 PM
Sigma APO DG MACRO HSM 70-200mm Teleconverter Issue ROBEFFY Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 13 12-20-2009 08:12 PM
Sigma 70-200mm & 2X teleconverter Mike.P Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 12 03-05-2009 02:19 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 PM. | See also: NikonForums.com, part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top