Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-11-2011, 06:35 AM   #1

Would the DA 70 make a good portrait lens?

One that I could use professionally (one day) for outdoor portraits? It would be the only lens that I'd have because I would have to sell all my other ones to get it. I would then use that DA 70 to make money to buy others. I know it's more about the photographer on the being able to make money part but as far as the lens goes is this a good choice for my idea?

04-11-2011, 07:00 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I am not a pro and doing portraits is not my most favorite thing, but while I owned the DA 70 I did some portrait work and took some workshops on portraiture. Compared to my DA*16-50, Vivitar 85, and DFA 100, I found the DA 70 to be just the right length for studio work. I sold it after a while not because I didn't like it but as a trade for an UWA lens I wanted. I still miss it. My current portrait lens is a Voigtlander Nokton 58mm. It's a bit shorter than the DA70 but I've been able to work with that.

Bottom line answer is yes, it's a decent portrait lens.
04-11-2011, 07:10 AM   #3
Veteran Member

The DA70 is a fine lens and is good for headshots. That is not the best focal length for other uses, certainly not what I'd want as an only lens.

I see that you have 28-70 and 70-200 lenses -- do you shoot a lot at 70 with those lenses? I also see that you have a set of very fine Takumars. Maybe rather than sell everything for one lens that you *hope* will make you money sometime in the future, you could think of other ways to "plug the hole" between 55mm and 135mm. For portrait-range shots, a favorite of mine is an old M42 Sears-Tokina 55-135/3.5, a fairly fast constant-aperture workhorse that performs well.