Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-30-2007, 06:34 PM   #1

how good is the 18-50 mm lens?

Well, supposedly my new Pentax K100D super came with the kit lens---18-55mm. I confirmed that several times with Dell before I placed my order. Long story short, it does not come with it and I only got the camera body. I also ordered the 70-300mm lens, which is arriving tomorrow. I am assuming, since I am very new to DSLR, that the 70-300mm lens is a lens I will not be using and carrying around all the time. To compensate for "miscommunications", Dell is giving me a $50 certificate to use. I found a Sigma 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC lens for $98 on their site. Right now, this is in my price range. Is this a good lens for everyday use? I am going to get the Pentax SMCP-FA 50mm f/1.4 lens for Christmas. Is there a better, or similiar lens I can get for around the same price, or is this lens just fine? I am not a serious photographer, just a mom who likes to take photos of my kids, dogs, vacation photos (we have trip to Disney World in the next several months), football photos and dance photos. Thanks in advance for any suggestions or advice.

10-30-2007, 07:32 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
TI got the Sigma 18-50 DC as a kit lens with my *istDS when I got it 2 years ago.
Suprisingly I still use it for when I want to take some wide shots.

It does the job for what you are describing.

Here are some samples (taken over the last 2 years) I've taken using it (no processing done on these).
water fountain on Flickr - Photo Sharing!
hatch building - perth on Flickr - Photo Sharing!
abigail portrait 2 on Flickr - Photo Sharing!
annabel macro portrait on Flickr - Photo Sharing!
abigail with a big smile on Flickr - Photo Sharing!
annabel cools off on Flickr - Photo Sharing! (taken only 2 weeks ago!)
bee close up on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Cheers
Troy