Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-30-2007, 10:52 PM   #1

oh so many lenses...Newbie to k10D

Hello! I'm currently a student studying photography and advertisement at a state college. Most of the photo department is using Canons. I'm a curent owner of the Pentax k10D. I love love love my camera, however I want a lens with a larger zoom. I primarly want the lense to shoot for portraits, fashion, street photography. My current lense is the one that came with the body 18-55mm. Is there a certain lens that is good for these areas of photography? I would love to here thoughts from you Pentax pros out there. Thank you so much.

10-31-2007, 12:34 AM   #2

my suggestion would be the new pentax 18-250 lens that should cover almost all your needs.
10-31-2007, 02:23 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by fashionista Quote
Hello! I'm currently a student studying photography and advertisement at a state college. Most of the photo department is using Canons. I'm a curent owner of the Pentax k10D. I love love love my camera, however I want a lens with a larger zoom. I primarly want the lense to shoot for portraits, fashion, street photography. My current lense is the one that came with the body 18-55mm. Is there a certain lens that is good for these areas of photography? I would love to here thoughts from you Pentax pros out there. Thank you so much.
Certainly the new 18-250, as stated is an option. There is also the DA 50-200 and the new DA*50-135, which looks to be a very fine lens.

Since you are a photo student, I will offer another suggestion. Depending on your finances, get 2 or 3 primes in the 50 - 135mm range. The reason I suggest the primes is, it will teach you to think about focal length, and planning your shot. This little bit of education become second nature to you, and will stay with you when you move to zooms.
10-31-2007, 03:27 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums