Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2007, 11:32 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Best 50mm Lens for a Newbie

I am a bit new to the SLR world having had my K100D for about 6 months now. I am starting to move beyond the 18-55mm kit lens and looking at getting my first prime. The 50mm lens is a relatively inexpensive and plentiful lens and I think a good place for me to start. My question is which one? I have briefly used a Pentax-M 50mm F2 lens but am still going through the P&S to SLR learning curve so I think a full manual lens is beyond me at this point.

I was wondering which I should be looking at? The Pentax-A 50mm f2 or f1.7 or f1.4 or an autofocus lens? I wish cost was not an issue, but it is for me.

What real world difference does the aperture size matter from f2 f1.4? I will be taking a trip to Italy next May and will be shooting indoors (museums and such) and also want to shoot some at night.

Thanks

Last edited by nathanjberry; 11-01-2007 at 11:39 AM.
11-01-2007, 11:43 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I use two non-autofocus primes (a 28mm and a 55mm). The image quality is superb, and focussing with a real manual focus ring is great. Unfortunately, you have to be realistic about not always nailing the focus... The viewfinder ground glass in the DSLRs don't offer any niceties to assist. That's one of the reasons I like my MZ-M, it's a modern camera with a split-field ground glass. It makes a big difference for focussing accuracy, especially in dark or available light situations.

I'm tempted to put a Katz-Eye focussing screen in my DL, but the focussing screen would cost almost as much as the camera.