Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2011, 07:52 PM   #1

Magnification and Macro Ratio

Hello everyone, it's my first post in Pentax community as I'm whilling to buy a K-5 and I'm also very new to Macro, so please, develop your explanations as would speak for a begginner.

After few hours of google researches I still can't find the right formula to calculate the Max Magnification factor. Here's the thing:

I dont know whether it makes difference or not, but this lens will be used into a K-5, which has a APSC sensor size. So I want to know how can I discover the Magnification Ratio of a given lens (e.g. Sigma 10-20mm F3.5 EX DC HSM which has a Minimum Focal Lenght of 16cm) ?

(I'm also missing the Min. Aperture of that lens).

Thanks again in advance for your time.

EDIT: Thanks for answering my first question audiobomber and Marc Sabatella.

EDIT 2: I've got the answers I was looking for, thanks everyone. =D

Last edited by Thales454; 05-03-2011 at 04:35 PM.
05-02-2011, 08:45 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Magnification and macro are inverses of one another. For the 10-17mm, 1/0.39 = 2.56, so the macro ratio is 1:2.6.

The Sigma at 1:5 would translate to 0.2X magnification, about half the fisheye's.

You can use a ruler to figure out magnification. A 1:1 macro lens will produce a photo with about an inch of the ruler filling the frame. The 10-17 will show about 2-1/2" at closest focus distance. The Sigma will show about 5" at minimum focus.
05-02-2011, 08:53 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Remember, a ratio is just a fraction. 1:2.4 means 1/2.5, which is 0.40. So the two different sites are basically saying the same thing. Meaning, at maximum zoom and minimum focus distance, you'd get that magnification. This is barely better than the kit lens, which does 1:3 or 0.33. The Sigma you mention does 1:5, which is 0.20 - noticeably not as good.