Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-02-2007, 08:40 AM   #1
Veteran Member

What wide angle lens?

I'm doing a project that requires a super-wide POV, preferably something under 21mm. I'm aware of the DA 14 and the Sigma 10-20 (which I've owned in the past), but I only really need this lens for one project and as a student I can't currently afford the 14 or 10-20.

Quality is important, of course, but for the purposes of this project it doesn't need to be a top performer. A little vignetting is fine, and it needn't be the sharpest lens in the world. I don't need auto-focus, either. However, it would be great if barrel distortion wasn't too bad since I will be taking pictures with a lot of straight lines in them.

Finally, it would be a bonus if the lens was smaller in size and weight than the 14 or 10-20.

I don't know much about Pentax film lenses or what my options are, so your advice is appreciated. As I need it for a project now I can't really troll eBay for a year waiting for one to turn up. I realize this probably limits my options severely, but I thought I'd ask your opinion anyhow.

Thanks.

11-02-2007, 08:55 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by switters Quote
I'm doing a project that requires a super-wide POV, preferably something under 21mm. I'm aware of the DA 14 and the Sigma 10-20 (which I've owned in the past), but I only really need this lens for one project and as a student I can't currently afford the 14 or 10-20.

Quality is important, of course, but for the purposes of this project it doesn't need to be a top performer. A little vignetting is fine, and it needn't be the sharpest lens in the world. I don't need auto-focus, either. However, it would be great if barrel distortion wasn't too bad since I will be taking pictures with a lot of straight lines in them.

Finally, it would be a bonus if the lens was smaller in size and weight than the 14 or 10-20.