Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-05-2011, 03:37 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
General Lens Questions

I'm rather new to DSLR cameras (love my K-x!), and as I think about eventually upgrading some lenses, I have some general questions...
  • How often does Pentax (or Sigma or Tamron) come out with a new lens?
  • Is there a certain time each year when new lenses are announced?
  • Is there ever a regular time when lenses go 'on sale' at reduced prices? (Do lenses ever even go on sale at reduced prices? I've seen mention of rebates occasionally.)
(I'm wondering if it is at all like how new cars are sold?)

Thanks for any info.

05-05-2011, 03:56 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I don't think there are any good answers to these questions. In other words, no, it's nothing like cars, where you know they come out on a regular schedule.

Pentax tends to put out lenses in bursts. Like none for a years, then two or three announced at once, then none for a couple of years, then one more, etc. Occasionally, the announcements might be timed to coincide with a major trade show like Photokina or PMA, but perhaps not to the same extent that other products are.

And yes, there are occasionally sales or rebates, but they are even less predictable. Was more common 3-4 years ago than recently. BTW, when checking prices, be aware that most retailers don't list their actual prices in ads or search listings - they list only MSRP. You usually have to add the lens to your cart to see the actual price, which is normally a lot lower. Some unscrupulous retailers don't even offer a lower price, counting on you to not realize that others are actually selling the lens cheaper. When in doubt, visit B&H and/or Adorama and add to cart to find out the going price for a lens.
05-05-2011, 06:12 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
New doesn't mean better lens.