Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-14-2011, 10:00 AM   #1

Is FA31 really 2.8 times better than DA40 ?

Hi, everyone !
I am new in Pentax and it is my first thread here....
Since I bought my K-X, I was looking for walkaround prime lens, that will give me nice picture quality in most situations. So, I bought DA40 because its popularity and price. And recently, I found few threads about FA31. It is 2.8 times more expensive than DA40, faster and 9mm difference in focal length can make big deal while taking pictures indoor. Probably one day I will upgrade to FA31. Of cause, there is another option: instead of buying FA31, to buy DA15 and DA70, to make nice "Triple Play" . But for now, I would like to have one walkaround prime lens . So, my question is: Does anybody had chance to compare these two lenses? And, is FA31 really 2.8 times better than DA40?

UPDATE for people who don't want to read through all pages of this thread.
You can compare these two lenses by going straight to two comparisons that are made, thanks to our members:
mccarvindh https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/144177-fa-limi...ml#post1506023
and
sjwaldron in Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/dslrninja/tags/comparisonfa31mmda40mm05172011/

But still, don't forget to post your suggestions, thoughts and comments about these two lenses

Last edited by krendel154; 05-17-2011 at 09:30 PM.
05-14-2011, 10:59 AM   #2

Is Ferrari 10 times better than an average car?
Is a diamond 2x the size 2x the price?
Is apple better than oranges?

You get the idea.
05-14-2011, 12:07 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery