Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
07-29-2011, 12:46 PM   #16

Photos: Albums
This is a very interesting observation. I am completely new to photography. I have a Pentax DA 18-135WR on a K5 and just bought a Nikon AF-S 18-200VR on a D7000. Comparing the two I am observing, the Nikon has way more magnification at the same focal length than the Pentax - meaning, the Nikon produces a more close up image at 70mm than the Pentax does at 135mm. I was so surprised, I did a google search on it and landed this thread. Can anyone knowledgeable please care to explain this to me?

Last edited by debmalya; 07-29-2011 at 12:47 PM. Reason: omitted little detail
07-29-2011, 01:24 PM   #17
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by debmalya Quote
This is a very interesting observation. I am completely new to photography. I have a Pentax DA 18-135WR on a K5 and just bought a Nikon AF-S 18-200VR on a D7000. Comparing the two I am observing, the Nikon has way more magnification at the same focal length than the Pentax - meaning, the Nikon produces a more close up image at 70mm than the Pentax does at 135mm. I was so surprised, I did a google search on it and landed this thread. Can anyone knowledgeable please care to explain this to me?
At what focus distance? Different lenses, primes as well as zooms, may have different close-focus distances (CFDs). And with zooms, the CFD may change with changing the focal length. Being able to focus closer means the captured image will be of greater magnification. And lenses with IF (internal-focus -- only an internal element changes position) vs extension-focus (the front element changes position) means the CFD's will be different -- and at CFD, the real FL (focal length) of a lens may be different than its nominal FL, which is measured at infinity focus. So there are many factors involved there.