Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-18-2011, 04:09 PM   #1
Forum Member

wide lens suggestion?

Hey, I'm a DSLR Newbie. I just got the K-x and I'm wanting a wide angle lens for learning architectural photography and video recording inside the house (time laps type stuff of my daughter playing, etc.). Is there any suggestions?

I also don't understand which 3rd party lenses are compatible with my k-x.

My budget is pretty low right now. I have about 300 to spend on lenses, but was going to put 200 of it toward a portrait lens with automatic features. the automatic is less important for my wide lens since I will be shooting still objects or just presetting it and letting it stand on the tripod for the video. So really no more than 100....is there one decent enough worth getting for that price? If not I'll stick with my kit lens at 18mm for now.

05-18-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are lots of sigma and tamron (and other brands) lenses for pentax- check out this db:

Third-Party Lenses for Pentax - Pentax Third-Party Lens Review Database

If you want something that cheap, it certaintly won't be wider than 18mm, though.
05-18-2011, 04:42 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Yeah I'm a little embarassed I asked this (ok a lot), cause I hadn't looked at any wide angle lenses. I assumed that a M or A series would be super inexpensive like the 50mm seem to be. But I guess wide angles are a lot more money. I think I"m for sure putting all money money toward a 50mm instead of trying to get one of each. Also the older series doesn't seem to get too wide anyhow. Not that I know how wide is wide since I haven't had the experience, I just know my 18mm isn't as wide as I wanted to get. It will totally work for now though. Maybe in a year, haha.

Thanks for the link to the third party lenses for pentax.
05-18-2011, 04:49 PM   #4
Veteran Member