Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-05-2007, 01:19 PM   #1
Inactive Account

SMC-M 50/1.4: focus in viewfinder and focus on frame don't match

I recently acquired an SMC-M 50/1.4, and as I'm new to manual focus lenses, I don't know what to make of a focusing issue I'm having with it on a K10D.

I set the focus to MF, the dial to M, set the aperture on the lens, stop-down using the green button, focus until a) it looks in focus or b) hear the focus indicator beep (virtually always the same thing), then release the shutter. At open apertures, particularly f/1.4-2.8, the resulting frames are consistently focused further away from me than expected. For example, looking down at a fence post and focusing on its very top (as indicated both by the focus indicator AND my contact-lens-corrected vision), with the ground beyond clearly out of focus and an aperture of 2.8, I release the shutter. Reviewing the shot both on the LCD and in Lightroom, I'm getting the ground beyond in focus and the fence top out of focus. But I focused on the fence top!

The same shot with the kit lens doesn't show this, although the DOF from that lens certainly makes the comparison more difficult. The M lens at 5.6 still exhibits a shift in focus towards the background. What's causing this? Poor technique? I'm pretty steady with the camera, and I certainly don't consistently lunge toward the subject as I press the shutter. I don't even know how this might be occurring optically. Any other users noticing this, or do I just need more practice with manual focusing?

Kerey

11-05-2007, 01:26 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Original Poster