Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-07-2007, 05:22 PM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Confused Quote
Hi Tim (Hannican)

The same thing tends to happen in supermarkets. Take cornflakes for example.....here are two packets sitting side-by-side on the shelf and the contents are identical, having both come off the same production line. Yet certain customers will invariably always select the more expensive widely-advertised brand A over the cheaper brand B because they 'perceive' that brand A is somehow 'superior'............go figure !!! No doubt Psychologists would have a field-day with this kind of scenario ?
Anyhow, happy LBA when the opportunity arises.....

Best regards
Richard
I've been selling OEM for over 35 years and the "Brand" thing still amazes me. The same tool except for paint color and 6 different brand names sporting prices ranging from $10 to $70 still makes me laugh. All of the talk about Pentax putting a different coating on the lens is equally ludicrous. The only change in any OEM product is an exterior color like the ring.

Regards,

Ken

11-07-2007, 05:48 PM   #17
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by regken Quote
Two reasons. In the last week a few reports are starting to surface there are some problems with a few of the Tamrons after a little use.
Do you have any links to those reports? I've been very tempted to buy one of the Tamrons, and I'd be very interested to have a read
11-07-2007, 06:29 PM   #18
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
The TRULY stupid thing about my brand loyalty is that I majored in Psychology in college so I totally understand the irrationality of it.

AND, for every day, general use items, I always, ALWAYS buy non-brand stuff. But for major expenses, I seem to always fall back to the company line and shell out a little extra to get that comfort of the brand name.

I'm working on it though!