Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-27-2011, 09:27 PM   #1
Emperor and Senpai

Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM or Sigma 20mm F1.8 EX DG ASP RF?

I do alot of shooting at anime conventions in low light, and I've noticed on both my Pentax 18-55 DA L and my newer Sigma 18-50mm F2.8-4.5 DC OS HSM I really stick around the 18-22 mm range almost the whole time. So, what I want is a good prime, and one that is fast for the crappy and low light at anime conventions. I work as a dealer, so am in the dealer hall all day, which is where I get most of my pictures. I also get some later after dinner, so generally 8-12 at night, again in really crappy lighting.

So, from what I have heard, and I don't know if this is true, most lenses you have to do a 1.5 conversion on to get the true length on an ASP-C camera like my Kx, and from what I read the Sigma 30 mm doesn't need that conversion, so, while I am not sure if that is the case I'm asking for advice here. Which one of these, Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM or Sigma 20mm F1.8 EX DG ASP RF, would be best? Also, would you have an even better recommendation? Thanks!

05-27-2011, 11:49 PM   #2
Zav
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Focal length is focal length, period.

The Sigma 30 is an APS-C lens only while the 20 can be used on film camera. If most of the time, you are between 18 and 22mm, you won't be happy with the 30mm.

The Sigma 20 f1.8 is probably the only ultra fast AF lens at this focal length. Yet, I would search for users feedback and samples as this lens has the reputation of being soft on the corners.
05-28-2011, 01:58 AM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
An outstanding prime is the Pentax FA31mm f1.8 Ltd. There is a lot of discussion about this lens because it is not cheap but it is truly outstanding. In low light, it is fast , and it excels in any lighting.

Food for thoughts...
05-28-2011, 02:20 AM   #4
Veteran Member