Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2011, 08:39 AM   #1

Anyone use the FA 31mm F1.8 AL SMC Limited Lens on the K-X?

I've seen great images produced from the 31mm limited lens but I haven't seen a lot of images taken with this lens on the K-X, I know it's expensive but wondered if anyone on here uses this on their K-X and could they provide some examples taken with this lens?

05-29-2011, 08:54 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The lens is just as good on the kx as with any other camera- but it doesn't really make sense for most to buy a lens that costs as much as 3 bodies
05-29-2011, 08:56 AM   #3

I use it on the Kx, but I have limited experience with it as I only got it last week :-)
05-29-2011, 09:06 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
The lens is just as good on the kx as with any other camera- but it doesn't really make sense for most to buy a lens that costs as much as 3 bodies
It's currently too expensive for me to buy but It would cost even more for me if i were to upgrade to a more expensive body like the K-5 and then buy the lens. As long as I could get results from the 31mm limited on the K-X then I would be happy to save up for the lens.

What other lens would you consider that are cheaper options but produces similar results to the 31mm limited lens.

05-29-2011, 09:16 AM   #5

The quality of the lens is actually the only element in the chain that has direct influence of the photo quality. Use the FA 31mm with a K-x produce great photos. Use a low quality lens with a K-5 produce crap.
I think it is better to use your money on high quality lenses and a cheap body than the opposite if you have a limited budget.

The attached photo is taken with the FA 31mm and K-5. If I had used a K-x instead, I would get a 12 mPix photo rather than a 16 mPix photo. The quality of the photo would be the same.
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo