Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
05-30-2011, 06:30 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
What do you really get for all the extra cash?

Hi. (it's going to take a while to get to my question--sorry). I'm fairly new to digital photography and when I had my K1000 all I ever had was the lens it came with. But now that I've had my Kx for a few months, I'm just really getting into the whole thing. Portrait photography seems to be what interests me the most. I now own a few very cheap lenses: a Ricoh 50mm 1.7, the kit lens it came with, a Promaster 70-300, and one of those Helios lenses that are all over ebay. I like the Ricoh and the Promaster, the Helios was a mistake since I'm not a handy man and I can't get it to work right, and I'm lukewarm about the kit lens. I would describe none of them as especially sharp, but I generally like the results from all these lenses, esp. the Promaster.

I am currently lusting after the smc da* 50-135 2.8 ed if sdm telephoto zoom, the da 18-135 3.5-5.6 ed al if dc wr, the 70mm 2.4 da limited, and the smcp-fa 77 1.8 limited. I'm interested in these lenses because I think they would make excellent portrait lenses--BUT they are all so darned expensive!

Here is my question: What do you really get when you pay all that cash for one of the above mentioned lenses? Will my pictures be 500 times better? I'm just not sure what could possibly make one of these lenses that much better than the cheapies I've got. Can anybody try to explain it to me? And if they really aren't worth all that money, what alternative route would make most sense? Thanks, Jim

05-30-2011, 07:14 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by jjhenders Quote