Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-09-2011, 07:58 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
dedicated macro lens vs lens with Raynox or other adapter

Hi all,

I have a Raynox 150 which I have tried on all my lenses (55-300, A-50/1.7, DA 35/2.4, kit lens) and it works pretty well. DOF is tricky as well as focusing. I am new to this!

What I am wondering is how much difference I would see if I got a real macro lens? I was considering maybe the A 100 2.8 macro. But I'm open to any of them, as long as I can afford them.

But which lens isn't really the point, I suppose. Just wondering what difference there is in image quality, sharpness, ease of use/focusing, etc, when using the macro lens vs the lens with Raynox.

Just for reference, below are some examples of macro shots I've gotten with the Raynox. Would I see a huge improvement in sharpness and magnification with a "real" macro lens?

Any advice and opinion is most appreciated! My budget is strained at the moment, and I'm trying to prioritize which lenses I need to focus on saving up for. Thank you so much!

06-09-2011, 08:49 AM - 1 Like   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by loco Quote

What I am wondering is how much difference I would see if I got a real macro lens? I was considering maybe the A 100 2.8 macro. But I'm open to any of them, as long as I can afford them.

But which lens isn't really the point, I suppose. Just wondering what difference there is in image quality, sharpness, ease of use/focusing, etc, when using the macro lens vs the lens with Raynox.

Just for reference, below are some examples of macro shots I've gotten with the Raynox. Would I see a huge improvement in sharpness and magnification with a "real" macro lens?

Any advice and opinion is most appreciated! My budget is strained at the moment, and I'm trying to prioritize which lenses I need to focus on saving up for. Thank you so much!