Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-14-2011, 02:23 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Converting Sigma 170-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG from Nikon to Pentax

Hi,

I'm new to SLRs and am still a bit confused about the mounts. I'm getting a K-5 in a couple of days, and have already started to look for some lenses to go with it (besides the kit lens and a Pentax 55-300. Specifically, I'm interested in a Sigma 170-500mm APO DG with a Nikon mount. Can I just unscrew the Nikon mount and put a Pentax mount on this lens, or will it be more complicated?

Thanks!

06-14-2011, 02:45 AM   #2
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Lemonhead Quote
Can I just unscrew the Nikon mount and put a Pentax mount on this lens, or will it be more complicated?
it is considerably more complicated than that, when you buy a lens it is best to get it in the same mount as your camera has (pentax K mount) and you are"locked" into only being able to use lenses in that particular camera mount.

Of course there are some examples of lenses being adapted to fit other mounts - it often involves forgoing the luxuries such as auto focus or automatic metering, and in some cases requires extensive alterations to the lens that can make it inoperable on the system it was originally designed for.
06-14-2011, 05:36 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Forget it. I have modified a few manual-focus Nikon-mount lenses to fit (somewhat) onto Pentax cameras. That autofocus Lil'Bigma you are interested in is NOT suitable for modification, period.

I have one in Pentax mount. I'll sell it for US$650. Yes, the Sigma APO DGL 170-500/5-6.3, like new, complete package with original box and case and everything, completely functional. I bought it new for my K20D and I just don't use it.