Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-16-2011, 11:45 AM   #1
Inactive Account

SMC Pentax-M 50mm F1.7 focus problem?

Hi,

I have just bought the above lense but seem to have a problem with my pics been out of focus, I'm very new to all this so it could be very simple.

I have set the camera so I can use the aperture ring, I manually focus on the subject but when I look closely at the pic it's blurred, I have use camera shake in the menu set to on.

I'm using a pentax k-r and green button for I think shutter speed

Any advice please

Thanks

Dean

06-16-2011, 12:02 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A sample photo with Exif data would help determine the problem.

Are any other parts of the photo not blurry? If so then you just mis-focused by a tad bit.

Were you on a tripod? If so then SR should be turned off, on might have caused the blurriness.

The only advise I can give without seeing a sample would be to do a controlled focus test. Get a subject (preferably one with good contrast or with letters) and focus while only a foot or 2 away from the subject so you can be 100% sure you are in-focus. If those photos turn our blurry then you might have some internal lens problems, haze maybe. If they turn out good then it was a mis-focus.
06-16-2011, 03:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Send your hands into pentax for recalibration.

But in all seriousness, it's just really hard to manually focus on a digital viewfinder.
06-16-2011, 03:53 PM   #4
MJL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Manual focus

Have you try Live View (LV)? I find it is way more accurate (brighter & bigger) at fine focusing than just looking through Kr viewfinder. If the problem only associate with this lens, then it is time to return the lens.

06-16-2011, 05:15 PM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I only have this manual lens, the others are auto, I will try lv screen and see if it's any better, cheers guys
06-17-2011, 07:35 AM   #6