Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-15-2007, 03:31 PM   #1

Old lenses - What to buy and how much ?

Hello, and pardon my english. It's not my native language and I'm into a few beers.

Anyhow, lets get down to it.
I'm a student and from Norway. The current currency of the $ is 5.40 NKR (Norwegian kroner) or close to that, which is (almost) an all time low.

I own a Pentax K10D, but so far I only got the kit lens.
Due to the cost of lenses here in Norway and the fact that I'm a student I don't have all that much to spend. So I've been having a look at eBay.

Currently I feel that the kit lens is limiting my creative options and also is a bit limiting when it comes to FOV.

The lenses I'm considering are these :
28mm or 35mm F/2 or F/2.8
50mm F/1.4 (Maybe 1.7)
135mm F/2.8 or F/3.5

Or something inbetween.
The most important is that they have to be resonable fast. I would love something longer than the 55mm (18-55 zoom) that I'm currently stuck with. However just having the opertunity to play with DOF will get me further in the "creative" part.

I do not (currently) have an adapter for M42, though I can get one for approx. 450 kr (80$).

Here's some more financial background :
I have to pay a 90 kr tax fee + 25% of the item+shipping cost in taxes when importing stuff at a value above 200kr (36$ (included shipping)).

The shipping alone, as I've found, by US Postal (something) is usually ~40$.
The FA 50mm 1.4 costs 2500 kr (454$) in Norway.

As a starting point consider a 50mm F1.4 (old and used, not new), what would be a reasonable price to pay on eBay considering the shipping cost and taxes ?
What would you consider to be the upper limit YOU would pay for such a lens ?

I hope you can help me out, as I really don't know which old lenses are 'good stuff' and how much I should pay for the 'good stuff'.

Regards,
Beej80

11-15-2007, 04:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery