Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-27-2011, 09:09 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Difference between two Sigma Lenses?

Hello,

Wanted to be as informed as possible before deciding on one of these two lenses. Can anyone tell me the difference between these two?

Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Telephoto Zoom
and
Sigma 70-300 1:4-5.6 DL Macro Auto Focus

Not sure if I can post links to these products on other sites, so I played it safe and didn't.

I plan on using one of these lenses mostly for sports. So I guess I would need something that would be able to pick up fast moving objects. My wife would love to use it for extreme close ups of plants and animals (the kind that where you can see droplets of water on leaves).

I'm new to the game and trying to learn as much as I can. I understand that neither one of these lenses are considered really high quality, but I'm on a budget. Should I be looking into another lens? I currently have a k r.

Thank you anyone that can help.

06-27-2011, 10:39 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are you talking about new or used as there have been many Sigma 70-300's over the years

There appear to be 3 different Sigma 70-300 available (new) for K-mount.

SLR Camera Lenses (from B&H website)
The last one is the OS (optical stabiliser) version.

You havent listed the OS version, and as Pentax has in-built SR you dont need it anyway, which leaves these 2
from Sigmaphoto website:

70-300mm F4-5.6 DG Macro - Telephoto Zoom Lenses - SigmaPhoto.com

70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro - Telephoto Zoom Lenses - SigmaPhoto.com

The DL macro is an older version. Comparison thread here from last month:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/143232-sigma-7...o-comparo.html

All of them are in the Lens review section here
Sigma Lenses for Pentax: Zoom Lenses - Pentax Third-Party Lens Review Database