Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-30-2011, 01:38 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Tamron 90mm macro...

Hi, I'm pretty new to DSLR photography and I want to buy a macro lens.

I discovered the Tamron 90mm Di Macro, it appears to be an excellent lens.

If I had a decent budget I would just buy it off Adorama right now, but of course my fundings are fairly low so I've been looking at other alternatives.

I've also found the Tamron 90mm Macro which appears to just be an older version. Its also half the price of the "Di" version. One thing though, I think it has an adaptall mount, which I'm not sure what that is really.

So my question is this: Which one would be a better choice, the "Di" version which is more expensive and newer, or the "non-di" version which is older but less expensive. If the adaptall mount is no problem, would the older version of the lens be just as good a choice as the new one? What are the differences besides the mount?

Thanks for your help!

~Ben

(I'm using a Pentax K-r if that affects anything.)

06-30-2011, 02:01 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Ben E Quote
Hi, I'm pretty new to DSLR photography and I want to buy a macro lens.

I discovered the Tamron 90mm Di Macro, it appears to be an excellent lens.

If I had a decent budget I would just buy it off Adorama right now, but of course my fundings are fairly low so I've been looking at other alternatives.

I've also found the Tamron 90mm Macro which appears to just be an older version. Its also half the price of the "Di" version. One thing though, I think it has an adaptall mount, which I'm not sure what that is really.