Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-03-2011, 03:15 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Sigma 70mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro

Hi all,

I'm thinking about buying the Sigma 70mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro. It receives great reviews and I've seen lots of spectacular pictures on Flickr.

How does this lens, or a macro-lense in general, perform as a regular telephoto lens ? On my K-5 the full frame Sigma resembles a 105mm. Maybe this is a newbie question, but I have no experience with macro photography.

07-03-2011, 03:23 AM   #2
Pentaxian

The Sigma 70/2.8 EX is a great lens. It's razor sharp as a macro and also more than usable as portrait lens.

QuoteOriginally posted by vinni Quote
On my K-5 the full frame Sigma resembles a 105mm.
Yes, due to the APS-C crop factor, a 70mm will give you the AOV that a 105mm gives on a full frame camera. Still fine for portrait photography. Better, AFAIC, than a 100mm macro on APS-C.
07-03-2011, 03:52 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Class A Quote
The Sigma 70/2.8 EX is a great lens. It's razor sharp as a macro and also more than usable as portrait lens.
Thanks for your reply! I took a closer look to your previous posts about this lens. Can't see any reason to NOT buy it. This would be my first purchase of a new lens. Until now I've only used M or A lenses on my K-5.

One question still remains. The 70mm is good for macro's and portrait, but how about on infinity? Say I want take a picture of a building across a river. Would this lens help me out?
07-03-2011, 05:05 AM   #4
Pentaxian

The 70mm is good for macro's and portrait, but how about on infinity?
The Sigma 70/2.8 EX has a floating focus system. This means that it will -- unlike older macro design -- also perform at infinity. Its three way focus limiter is also very useful in these circumstances.

07-03-2011, 08:03 AM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums