Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 15 Likes Search this Thread
07-15-2011, 03:10 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lens advice for theater/stage

My daughter is in a lot of dance and high school musical activities. I've been trying to figure out what kind of lens I need to get good shots under the challenging conditions of ambient darkness and stage lighting. (I'm also trying to figure out how to take a good shot...) I got the K-x less than a year ago and love it, so it really helps to be able to up the ISO. It's my first DSLR, so I'm still a beginner. I've tried sitting in different spots in the theater, so there are some differences there, but here's what I've learned so far:
  • I have the DA 16-45, and it works well for full stage when there is a fair amount of light.
  • I have a Pentax F 35-70 1:3.5-4.5, and I could get some decent shots, but it just doesn't seem to do the job.
  • I have a M 50 1.7 that I tried figuring that its 1.7 would enable me to shoot at a faster speed. Again, some decent shots, but less satisfactory than I hoped. Partly it's the manual focus when I am trying to catch something quickly (especially dance). Partly the focal length was just not right. Not close enough to catch a fully lighted person on stage and too short so that lighting was always an issue. (Again, I'm still trying to learning to shoot quickly w/ a M lens...)
  • I have had best luck w/ my DAL 55-300, especially for spotlighted moments where person/s are not moving. At 1:4-5.8, it's hard to capture a motion shot.
SO, I'm thinking that I want something in the 70-135mm range that is fairly fast. Money is an object, so I'm probably going to have to wait around for something used to show up, but I'd like to be prepared. Some of the lens that have shown up that might be available used for under $200 include:
  • Sigma 70 2.8
  • Tamron 90 2.8
  • Pentax 135 3.5 (quite a bit cheaper and more often available)