Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-21-2007, 03:11 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
additional lenses for my k100d

hey guys/girls,. how are we all??
well, as the title suggests, i just recently purchased a k100d. its a fantastic camera and i couldnt be happier with it..at the moment i have a sigma 18-50mm f3.5-5.6 lense. As i am fairly new to digital photography, and also pentax, i was wondering what you guys would advise me to get, in the way of additional lenses.

i would love to get into macro photography , so a decent entry level lense is needed? any suggestions on models etc??

also, i do a lot of ocean/surf/sunset photography, so i would love a nice wide angle lense. i would also love a decent zoom lense also. perhaps a 3-400mm zoom?
again.. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated,, as far as my budget goes, i would be buying these lenses one at a time (unless they are a reasonable price). setting a budget for AU$200-400 for each one is realistic or not?? and is it considerably cheaper to buy at online shops , compared to me walking into somewhere like TEDS or CAMERA HOUSE??

thanks alot in advance,,

kevin,.,

11-21-2007, 04:11 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Well for $200-400 you are pretty well limited to the70-300 lenses from Pentax, Tamron and Sigma. None of these lenses will give you stellar results, slow maximum aperture, soft at maximum telephoto etc. The Pentax DA 50-200 is also an option and is sharper and contrastier, but has vignetting issues.

You could tru the 50-135 but it probably wouldn't have the reach to do surf photography effectively. The Sigma 100-300 f4 is also supposed to be quite good but I don't know if it comes in Pentax mount, and both of these lenses are well out of your budget.

You could also try some old lenses (manual focus etc) and see what you come up with.

As for wide angle, the only one that I can think of that fits in your budget is the 16-45 which I have and love.