Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-30-2011, 11:14 AM   #1

Pentax 12-24 vs Sigma 10-20

I searched for this comparison and I am sure it has been discussed but I could not find a thread. Anyway, do you guys think the extra cost of the Pentax 12-24 is justified over the Sigma 10-20? I mostly post my photos online and do not print. I take a lot of travel photography but I am not a professional. Sometimes I find I do not have enough wide angle when taking photos in urban settings. I wish the Tokina was made in a Pentax mount, that would be the easy choice.

07-30-2011, 11:55 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Go for the Sigma

QuoteOriginally posted by tkindred Quote
I searched for this comparison and I am sure it has been discussed but I could not find a thread. Anyway, do you guys think the extra cost of the Pentax 12-24 is justified over the Sigma 10-20? I mostly post my photos online and do not print. I take a lot of travel photography but I am not a professional. Sometimes I find I do not have enough wide angle when taking photos in urban settings. I wish the Tokina was made in a Pentax mount, that would be the easy choice.
I've been looking at both of these myself for the same reason. My money would go for the Sigma. Reading the reviews on the Sigma, I can see no reason why that even pro's would not use it.

There are a ton of reviews here on both of these lenses in the lens database to help you make up your mind.

Here for the Pentax 12-24 https://www.pentaxforums.com/lensreviews/SMC-Pentax-DA-12-24mm-F4-Zoom-Lens.html

And here for the Sigma https://www.pentaxforums.com/userreviews/Sigma-10-20mm-F4-5.6-EX-DC-HSM-AF-Lens-for-Pentax.html

On a side note, I see you from @ SF. I'm about 90 NE of SF and love shooting anywhere and everywhere @ SF.
07-30-2011, 11:57 AM   #3
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter