Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-24-2011, 05:04 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Which Macro??

One question for you guys... Lets say someone will gift you one macro lens..Which one would you choose? Pentax DFA 100 Wr or Tamron 90?? Your opinion will be very helpful because i am not experienced with macro lenses.. Please also dont take in account the price of the lenses.. Thanks in advance..

08-24-2011, 05:32 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The focal lengths are quite close. The IQ is probably close too (I own the DFA WR and the FA50, and can attest that there are differences but that both are close, at the end of the day. I assume the Tamron is close too).

the WR is an important advantage IMHO, as is quick shift (I am surprised at how much I use it with the DFA WR). And the Pentax will have a higher resale value if it ever comes to that.

So I would advise to get the DFA, for practical reasons, even though the Tamron is a highly regarded lens.
08-24-2011, 05:39 AM   #3
Veteran Member

If it were the standard DFA I would say the choice would be harder. However I think the added value of WR and circular aperture blades tips it in favour of the DFA WR over the Tamron (excellent though it is). The Tamron produces slightly more harmonius performance across it's range than the straight DFA (optically identical to the DFA WR):

Pentax SMC-D FA 100mm f/2.8 macro - Review / Test Report - Analysis

Tamron AF 90mm f/2.8 SP Di macro (Pentax) - Review / Lab Test Report - Analysis

However as I said I think the WR, metal build and circular aperture on the DFA WR tip things in its favour.
08-24-2011, 07:51 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Caat Quote
The Tamron produces slightly more harmonius performance across it's range than the straight DFA (optically identical to the DFA WR):