Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
08-28-2011, 11:25 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Recommendations PLEASE

I just recently purchased a kr, I haven't received it yet but I do know that the 18-55mm lense that it comes with is not really what I need. (I know this b/c I purchased a new Nikon d3100, it too came with the same 18-55mm and I am not happy with it at all.) I am going to return the Nikon as well once my Kr arrives. No one in my area from New Orleans to Pensagola Fl carries Pentax or was willing to help me. I am new to the SLR world and want to make sure that I purchase the right lense for me. I mainly work with natural light in outdoor settings. I do a lot of portraits. Since I live near the beach the majority of my photographs are taken there and when I am taking pix of children I normally like to stand back and take them. Thank you all in advance for sharing your knowledge, I do appreciate all that is offered.

08-28-2011, 11:36 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Perhaps a tamron 28-75mm lens would be more like what you need?

Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di Autofocus Lens for Pentax AF09P700
08-28-2011, 11:49 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
If speed isn't the issue consider the DA 18-135 or DA 18-250

Pentax-DA 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 ED AL [IF] DC WR Reviews - DA Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

Pentax-DA 18-250mm F3.5-6.3 ED AL [IF] Reviews - DA Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

If cost isn't an issue consider the DA* 50-135

Pentax-DA* 50-135mm F2.8 ED [IF] SDM Reviews - DA Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database
08-28-2011, 12:32 PM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by NewFlasher Quote