Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-31-2011, 08:34 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lens manufacturer identification help - Kitstar 28mm f2.8

Hi folks, thanks for stopping in to take a look! This is my first attempt at posting with pictures, etc, so let me know if what i'm trying doesn't work, is against written (or unwritten) forum rules and needs to be changed, etc. - I don't know how to get images inline... so far only the attachments (or inline from already attached).

I'm a stubborn and obstinate fellow, and not knowing the manufacturer of this Kitstar 28mm f2.8 lens is driving me crazy. After some loose comparisons via pictures, I think it's a Makinon or Hanimex, but I can't tell for sure. I don't know if you can tell from the picture, but it is an 8 bladed aperture. I've seen one other post of a lens similar to this, in the off brand club, but that (I think) was an m42 mount, this is a K - https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/lens-clubs/31353-off-brand-club-3.html#post285820. I didn't get it in the photo, but it is stamped "Lens Made in Japan" between the aperture ring and the focus ring.

I need to post some pics I've taken with it because I've got some questions about the IQ and sharpness, etc, but that's either for another thread or later in this thread as I'm still fumbling my way through this attachment process.

Bender

Attached Images

08-31-2011, 09:45 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Kitstar was just another marketing name. If the first two digits in the serial # are 75 then yours may be by Hoya. But it looks rather more like a Cosina, than like a Hoya I had. Gargling around, I see mention that it might be Chinon, and some of my Chinons don't look too dissimilar. So ?quien sabe? Who knows?
08-31-2011, 10:04 AM   #3

Original Poster