Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-05-2007, 10:37 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Pentax T183 close-up lens

Does anyone know where I can find one of these? I'd like the option of doing tighter portraits with my FA77, and someone on Photo.net suggested the T183. Unfortunately I can't find one anywhere; seems they're out of production and quite rare.

Any ideas where I might find one? Or are there any modern alternatives that are still in production, and still have the same quality?

EDIT: I found this at B&H. Would it have the desired effect? How is it different than the T183? Pentax | 49mm T80 Close-up Lens for 85mm to 150mm Lenses | 30452

12-05-2007, 05:29 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That should work, it's like a pair of reading glasses for your lens! The T80 will magnify more than the one you were looking at as I understand the specs on the B&H site.
But be warned, I have no practical experience with any of these.
Ole
12-05-2007, 05:44 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Okay, I found this description of the Pentax close-up lenses:

Pentax Close-up Accessories

I don't see how the T183 would help me, because according to the link above the minimum focus distance with that lens would be 42 inches. That's larger than what the FA77 is normally!

However, the T80 would apparently give me a minimum focusing distance of 19 inches and a maximum focusing distance of 36 inches. That's a pretty narrow band of working distance, but I guess that's how close-up lenses work?

But perhaps I'm misunderstanding. Anyone here know about these?
12-05-2007, 11:21 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by switters Quote
Okay, I found this description of the Pentax close-up lenses:

Pentax Close-up Accessories

I don't see how the T183 would help me, because according to the link above the minimum focus distance with that lens would be 42 inches. That's larger than what the FA77 is normally!