Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2011, 01:38 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Interesting macro function on lens?

So I got a soligor 35-70mm 2.5-3.5 off ebay that arrived today. I am a newbie to manual focus lenses so maybe this is common and I have just never seen it but it seemed pretty cool to me and a simple way to do it. Instead of 3 rings like a two touch zoom, it has 4 rings, the aperture ring, a macro ring, the zoom ring and the focus ring. When you turn the macro ring it literally pushes the entire lens forward about a half inch, like a built in adjustable macro tube. From the looks of it it is designed to be used in any position so its like a variable distance macro tube from 0mm to maybe 25mm.

Is it just me or is that a kind of cool, effective and probably inexpensive way to add macro to a lens?

Unfortunately I wont be testing the lens out soon (or maybe at all). It was suposed to be olympus mount (easy to convert) and its canon mount (hard to convert). It was also supposed to be a c/d lens and it is not labeled as such (not sure if it is actually different or not). The seller said it was a stock photo. Well see where it goes.

edit: brain fart on the math, maybe a 0mm-13mm built in adjustable macro tube.

Last edited by ripit; 09-26-2011 at 01:44 PM.
09-26-2011, 01:53 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lots of older lenses have the macro function at the end of the focusing range somewhere- I think it all ends up working out the same way but yeah, it's sort of cool. However, modern lenses have one common trend: they keep the number of rings at a minimum to maximize easy of use.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)