Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-12-2011, 07:18 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Lenses for K5

Hi everybody,

i just bought my first Pentax SLR.

k-5 silver.

Photography for me is an hobby. don't sure where this hobby will take me in the future but for the time being i'm far to be a professional photographer.

i'm studying on the books of Scott Kelby in order to understand better new techniques etc.

i will receive the camera in about one week and i dind't purchase yet any lens.

for my needs i suppose the best option also to learn slowly slowly every aspect of the k-5 is a zoom lens useable almost in every condition and for many purposes. so maybe a 18-250 or similar.

since i read bad reviews about pentax lenses ( 18-135 and 18-250 ) does someone can suggest something ? i would really like to buy the da 16-50 and da 60-250 but they are too expensive for me.

there some other option also from other brands ?

thanks in advance for your help.

Six

10-12-2011, 07:27 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
just as a simple observation, perhaps you should have considered the kit lens, i.e. the WR 18-55, when ordering the body.

That is enough to get you started.

You can still pick up an 18-55 relitively inexpensively and while there are better lenses available, not in terms of value for money.

You can then pick up any ~50-300 zoom, including some older FA lenses (80-300) that are good performers, and relitively in expensive.

with these 2 lenses, you are into photography without breaking the bank. THen as you shoot, learn, and find what you like to shoot, start getting really high quality lenses to expand your capabilities.

If you are serious about learning it will take you 6 months to start expanding a little beyond what a simple 2 lens kit will cover adequately.