Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2007, 10:53 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Sigma 400mm APO f5.6 (72)?

Is this an 'oldie but goldie' or an 'avoid like the plague' lens? I'm about to get a Sigma 1.4 APO TC anyways so perhaps this lens would be a good match with it. It would give a good reach relatively cheap, although it would be a rather slow combination (a tripod would have to be on the shopping list next I suppose). Without the TC it should be possible to get decent shots handheld too, especially with Pentax SR?

The other thing that I worry about is the KEH-ranking that it has, i.e. 'bargain'. I have no experience buying from KEH so I don't really know what to expect. In case I don't like the condition of the lens I would have to ship the thing back across the pond...not good. So should I wait for one in EX condition? How often do these turn up at KEH and other places?

Thanks for any input,
Boucicaut

12-10-2007, 11:41 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I am not sure how much you are ready to pay for the Sigma, but a Pentax 400/5.6 runs in the $300 - 350 range, when they come up for sale. I am partial to Pentax lenses. I have not had terrific luck with Sigmas, and I like all my lenses to have the same colour cast, so I buy only SMC Pentax glass. Even my loupe is Pentax - but I don't think it is SMC.
12-11-2007, 02:03 AM   #3

Sigma 400mm APO with the 72mm filter front (if my memory is holding) is an excellent lens. Even the non-APO version is still decent. I have the MF version of this lens and have no complaints for what I paid for it in basically new condition.
12-11-2007, 02:53 AM   #4
Veteran Member

I have the MF non-APO version of the Sigma 400mm f/5.6 and I'm pretty pleased with it.

Here's my lens

and a sample image shot with the K100D hand held

12-11-2007, 03:28 AM   #5
Veteran Member