Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2007, 11:46 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
best lens for jewelry?

specifically diamonds, mostly set in various rings/necklaces/bracelets.

A family friend owns a store, and wants to start having someone take pictures to email to possible buyers, etc (who knows, maybe even get a web presence).

My brother in law told me about this just now (he was in scouting a ring for me to purchase). Since I am new to this, but friends with the jeweler, it may present an opportunity to let my hobby earn me some small amount back, so I wanted to see if anyone on here has taken such pictures, or actively takes them.
My assumptions thus far:

1- A lightbox is probably a wise investment, whether I buy one or find DIY instructions

2-Probably will need additional lighting beyond my 360 flash

3-Doubt any of my current lenses would be best suited for what I expect would be macro type pictures.

My main reason for posting this here, is that I am actively debating purchasing at least 1 new lens, probably two.

1-either/or da* 16-50 or 50-135. Leaning toward the 50-135, if either

2-tamron 28-70 2.8, and perhaps the 70-300

3-open to suggestions

I don't yet know if anything would come from the diamond photography, but I wouldn't be surprised if I was given a trial run to see what I could produce, and I am just trying to see if this possible opportunity might steer my next lens purchase a little (in a perfect world, it comes through and finances some lens purchases, but I am not holding my breath just yet)

Just to save you from looking at my sig, my lenses currently in my bag are:
18-55 and 50-200 kit, 10-17 fisheye, 40mm limited and 50/1.7.

and yes,I do have a tripod so I am not worried about stabilizing

12-12-2007, 01:05 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jmdeegan Quote