Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-30-2011, 08:20 AM   #1
Forum Member

Wildlife lens selection help!

Hello folks,
I am looking to get into the super telephoto lens group for doing wildlife photos. My current setup is a K7 with a Sigma 70-200 F2.8 HSM, which isn’t bad – however I feel I need more reach to get close to the cats (Bobcat and Lynx). Other uses for the lens I am looking to pick up include minimal birding (perhaps when they are perched on a branch or swimming, but no in flight), and moderate off road rally racing/hill climbs (about 6-12 events per year).

I am ashamed to say, I have no experience with MF lenses, so there certainly would be a learning curve if I went that route. Also my only experience with a prime is the DA 40, which I haven’t used much and am likely going to sell.

Having said that, here is what I believe my needs are in order of importance:
Wildlife: Great IQ, Fast Aperture, Reach 300mm+
Auto racing: Great IQ, Fast AF, Zoom 200-400mm+, (IF/IZ helps to limit dust exposure)
Birding: Great IQ, Reach 200mm+, Fast Aperture

I realize that one lens may not fit all categories – my main focus at this point is wildlife as I can make my 70-200 work for auto racing (just got to be creative on where I stand) I almost purchased a 100-300 on the forum here, but my wife put the hold on the purchase and I started thinking about alternatives that would be similarly priced and perhaps more appropriate for my uses.

My budget cannot stretch much more than $1500 for this purchase and that price should include a TC if I would be limited to a 300mm prime. Here are the options I have come across so far:

Tokina AT-X 300mm F2.8 (TC: 1.4/1.7/2x – one with a built in small af system)
Seems like an excellent lens, but is not AF. I have read that there are some TC’s out there that have a limited AF capability, so that almost certainly would have to be an option to explore.